slice of life · technology

The Desk and the Diner

The keyboard tray moves up and down and tilts up and down.  Therefore, it's going to take me a few days to make sure I'm comfortable. Also, because it's so wide, I'm going to have to get a new chair since the arm rest from my present chair is affecting the way I use the mouse.
The keyboard tray moves up and down and tilts up and down. Therefore, it’s going to take me a few days to make sure I’m comfortable. Also, because it’s so wide, I’m going to have to get a new chair since the arm rest from my present chair is affecting the way I use the mouse.

My parents came out to Pennsylvania for an unexpected visit yesterday.  My father built the contraption my husband needed to mount the keyboard tray to the bottom of my desk.  However, it wasn’t something he could send through the mail, so they drove out yesterday morning so my dad and husband could install it together.  (And let me tell you, it took hours! Sawdust, drilling, and three iterations of positioning it later, and it’s finally installed!) I’m almost “back in business,” but there are some more things that need to be tweaked before I can be pain free at my desk again.  (Plus, after three weeks of angst since the keyboard tray broke off, I’ve been sitting poorly whenever I have been at the computer. Therefore, it’s going to take some time to undo the damage I did.  Writer problems!)

* * * * *

When I was a little girl, my father took me out to breakfast every Sunday morning.  Even though I am an only child, I just loved these Sunday morning breakfasts with my Dad since it gave me 1:1 time for me to hang out with him and for him to talk to me about things happening in school.

My Dad has recently decided to start up the Sunday morning breakfast tradition with Isabelle.  While they can’t exactly have discussions about how school is going or her career aspirations, they can begin a glorious Sunday morning tradition of their own.

Even though my parents live in NJ, my Dad has started making Sunday mornings “Izzy-Zayde Breakfasts” when he sees her.  This morning he took her to breakfast at a new place.  Just a local diner about a mile away from our house.  I suggested it since I thought it would be nice for him to vary the places he takes her.  He happily obliged and took her there not knowing what their menu was, if they had high chairs, etc.

I later found out he parked the car and took Isabelle in.  They were ushered to a booth that had a seat so high Isabelle was able to sit next to him on the bench without a booster seat.  Apparently when she sat down on the bench, she was even able to prop her little arms up on the table.  When he told me this I said, “Awww.  You two must’ve looked so cute sitting there next to each other.”

It’s funny that I said that because my father shared a little story that had to do just with that.

Moments after they arrived at the booth, my father took off Isabelle’s coat and placed her on the bench in the booth.  She immediately grabbed the menu in front of her and began “reading” it.  The waitress came by, looked at her, and said, “Oh, she’s so cute.”

Isabelle looked up, stared at her, and then tossed the menu to the side.  (Why? My Dad has no idea!)

The waitress looked at Isabelle, then turned to my Dad and said, “I think I retract my earlier statement.”

HA!

My Dad wasn’t in the least bit offended.  Hey, when you do something bratty, it’s not all that cute.

That being said, my Dad (who never sugar coats things) said Isabelle did great at breakfast.  She did the stand-on-the-knees-and-peer-into-the-next-booth thing once.  And, she ate her entire platter (sans crust) of her French toast.  And aside from tossing the menu aside with disgust, she behaved the entire time they were out.

Another successful Izzy-Zayde Breakfast.  Knowing how much I loved breakfast with my Dad as a kid, I’m delighted for Izzy that she’ll get to share many more Sunday mornings with him.

14 thoughts on “The Desk and the Diner

  1. What a great tradition for your dad to continue. When my dad was alive, he and my sons fixed Sunday morning breakfast whenever he came to visit. The menu was always the same–french toast (made with the secret ingredient) and sausage patties. So you know what I do with the grandkids when they come–we make breakfast. Not always french toast, they’re more pancake kind of kids, but we carry on the tradition!

    1. I love that you’re carrying on the tradition, too, Deb! How special.

      BTW: Have you ever put vanilla extract into your French toast batter? That’s my (not-so-secret-anymore) secret ingredient.

  2. Why is it that the mornings seem to hold those wonderful traditions? Maybe because the day hasn’t started to get in the way. My dad was more of a pick-up-crumb-buns-and-the-paper kind of guy,, but we did it together. Miss you, Dad.

  3. So wonderful for both Isabelle and your dad that they have this tradition up and running already. Many years of lovely breakfasts to look forward to! BTW, my kids HATED the word “cute” or syrupy babytalk (that is not how they were talked to at home!)- so I totally get Isabelle’s reaction.

  4. How lucky you have such a handy dad to create a solution to your computer/desk woes. I’m glad you have some relief there although it will take some adjustments.
    Breakfast with Zayde will be treasured time spent together. Don’t you wish you could have been a fly watching it all unfold?

  5. I so enjoy these special family traditions. As a mother of young girls, I often wonder what traditions and memories they will remember from their children and try to create some of those for them.

  6. Glad they can share that time, even if it’s irregular. Wonder if that waitress woke up on the wrong side of the bed, doesn’t sound like such bratty behavior to me.

  7. So sweet! As much as I love my dad, I would give anything if he had just a bit more sentiment of wanting traditions with his kids, and grandkids. I think having those memories to hold on to is priceless, for sure!

  8. Heal quickly! It’s so wonderful that Isabelle can have these special breakfasts with her grandfather. It’s a great tradition to pass on. Don’t you wish you could see it, though? Maybe you should follow them and sit in a distant booth to watch and listen! Ha!

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment below.

