OBSERVATIONS · slice of life

Lights On. Lights Off.

As soon as she turned around, all I could see was a huge grin on her face.  She figured out how to turn on (and off) the lights!
As soon as she turned around, all I could see was a huge grin on her face. She figured out how to turn on (and off) the lights!

Today did not go as planned.  Car trouble threw a monkey wrench into my day.  It made me reschedule my entire day, after I finished with a 10:30 a.m. meeting, so I could deal with it.  :/  Add to that the fact that my new keyboard tray still hasn’t arrived and that means I cannot sit at my computer due to the pain that sears through my wrists if my keyboard sits too high.  Hence, I will be writing my slice and jumping off of the computer after this.  (Thank G-d I have my Two Writing Teachers posts for the rest of the week pre-scheduled to publish!)

Anyway, a little levity from my morning since I need to think about something funny rather than the car-related and computer-related issues.

Right after breakfast, I closed the gates downstairs so that Isabelle would be safe in her play room.  The only other place she can “wander” to is our foyer.  We took the side table out of our foyer when she began crawling so there’s not much she can get into trouble with.  Or so I thought.

After I closed the gates, I climbed over the gate to the stairs and went upstairs to brush my teeth quickly.  Afterwards, I grabbed my socks and shoes.  As I was sitting on an ottoman, putting them on my feet, I noticed the hallways lights were flickering on and off.  What the heck?  I heard the click of the light switches.  Could that be her?  How could she reach the light switches?  Did she move her chair over to reach them?  No, that still wouldn’t get her high enough.  I fastened my shoe, stood up quickly, and raced to the top of the staircase.  When I looked down I found my three foot tall toddler standing on top of a box that arrived from Amazon yesterday.  She was happily turning the lights on and off.

“Isabelle! What are you doing?” (Stupid question, I know!)

She turned around and grinned.  She continued turning all of the switches on and off, up and down, over and over and over and over again.  (There are four switches there so there was a lot of action.)

Then I thought about how she got up there.  She had to move the box that was in the foyer, climb on to it, and then play around.  While this might not amaze you, it amazed me since this isn’t something she’d normally do.  Instead of getting angry, I grabbed my phone and took a few pictures.  While I should’ve unpacked yesterday, I’m glad I didn’t because it provided her with the chance to experiment with something she’s been watching us do (and has probably been yearning to try out herself) for months!

And on that note, I’m going to get off of my computer in a few minutes to save my wrists from the pain that will start if I spend any more time on this computer.  Instead of commenting on other people’s slices today (Please forgive me!) I’ll be unpacking the box and cleaning up my office, which is another long over due task.  Until that keyboard tray is installed this weekend, I’m back to staying off of the computer for awhile.

10 thoughts on “Lights On. Lights Off.

  1. So many things we do everyday are brand new to a child. It’s fun to watch them learn. I enjoyed imagining her standing on the box gleefully flicking on and off.

  2. Oh, Isabelle! I love the fact that she got busy, happily so, figuring out what needed to be done and doing it. And she has a sense of humor – witness that grin when you asked the obvious. She is a personality, she is!

  3. Oh, the ingenuity of those little ones. It’s amazing how quickly they can figure things out. Hope your wrists are feeling better. IIt’s hard to believe that the heights of the keyboard can make such a difference.

  4. Oh, I am so thankful you thought to grab your phone. Isabelle continues to delight me. I hope your hands feel better. I am eager for you to get your proper keyboard, so you can continue to write.

  5. Such excitement for her. You so wonderfully captured the energy of her accomplisment! Here’s to lots of “lights on and off” as well as to ( I suspect) lots of flushing action (that often follows the lights)!

  6. Exploration and discovery through the eyes and hands on little ones allows us to remember what it was like to learn something new. What a smart one you have!

  7. Although her appreciation of those boxes with a smile on the side might be for an unexpected reason, I share her joy! The glee she must have felt wielding her newfound power. Love it! I can just imagine that grin she flashed you as she turned to face you. Clever, clever girl.

  8. Stacey,
    Knowing the little toddler instinct, I am sure that this intrigued Isabelle! Good for her ingenuity in figuring out how she could make arrangements to accomplish her goal!
    This makes me think of the ages and stages questionnaire I just filled out for Nattie-there was a question on it about moving things to obtain something on a shelf-Isabelle would get a perfect 10! 😉

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment below.

