current events

Our first of #26acts of kindness.

Ann Curry encouraged the masses to commit 20 random acts of kindness in memory of the children who perished at Sandy Hook Elementary School.  Many people have upped the ante to 26 random acts of kindness in order to remember the heroic teachers and staff members who died on December 14th as well.

DSC_6172I decided I wanted to participate in the 26 acts of kindness with my daughter.  She’s almost two, which means she’s too young to understand what the meaning is behind these acts.  (Clearly, I’m NOT talking about the shooting with her.  I’m just talking about doing nice things for people who we may or may not know.)  Today we did our first act of kindness, which was working together to send thank you cards to the helpers who were the first responders.  While I embellished the front of the cards with quotations, stickers, and ribbons (and wrote the note), Isabelle participated by coloring on one of the cards.  For me, that was enough.

When she woke up from her nap, we began our second act.  She watched me prepare dinner for a friend’s family who just had a baby.  We’ll deliver it tomorrow.  That will be our second of 26 acts.

I won’t be blogging about all of our acts. I don’t feel the need to make everything we do public.  That’s not who I am. However, I know if I commit to 26 acts publicly, then I will follow through with Isabelle in tow.  It may take us awhile to complete 26 acts together, but we’ll do it since I know it will add a bit more light to the world and perhaps will also start to teach her what it means to repair the world.

——

If you’d like to send cards to first responders, then here are the addresses where you can mail your cards:

 

Monroe Police Department

7 Fan Hill Road

Monroe, CT 06468

 

Newtown Police Department
3 Main Street
Newtown, CT 06470

Connecticut State Police
Public Information Office
1111 Country Club Road
Middletown, Connecticut 06457

One thought on “Our first of #26acts of kindness.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment below.

