holidays · Jewish · picture books

The Tie Man’s Miracle & Other Fantastic Chanukah Books

This meme was started by Sheila at Book Journey and the kids’ version has been adapted by Jen and Kellee at Teach Mentor Texts.
Over the summer I borrowed The Tie Man’s Miracle: A Chanukah Tale written by Steven Schnur from the library. Let me be honest: I have no idea why I borrowed it. I’ve been racking my brain trying to remember the reason why. I don’t remember if I was doing a search on Amazon for one of Schnur’s acrostic poetry books or if I was thinking about the tragedy of the Holocaust. (Though I do remember both things happening.) However, I know I didn’t pull the book off of the shelf since I had to get it on interlibrary loan from a different Penn State library than the one where my I taught my course.

While the reason I got it is unclear, I think it found my way to me for a reason. You see, I’m on a quest to make Chanukah a meaningful holiday for Isabelle. It’s about so much more than eight nights of presents and eating latkes. It’s a holiday where Jews stood up for the right to practice their religion. Yes, there was a miracle where the candles burned for eight nights, but the premise of the holiday stems from the desire to be Jewish. Therefore, when I come across stories that reflect the real meaning of Chanukah, I pay attention to them since I long to share meaningful books about the holiday with my daughter… not the ones that make it look like Chanukah is all about gifts.

To learn more about The Tie Man’s Miracle: A Chanukah Tale, read the synopsis of the book by clicking here. Here are some other wonderful Chanukah titles that we’ll be reading as a family this week:

Once I get a home library copy of The Tie Man's Miracle, I will need to find one more great Chanukah picture book so I can have one for each night of the holiday.  Do you have any suggestions?
Once I get a home library copy of The Tie Man’s Miracle, I will need to find one more great Chanukah picture book so I can have one for each night of the holiday. Do you have any suggestions?
2 thoughts on “The Tie Man’s Miracle & Other Fantastic Chanukah Books

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment below.

