OBSERVATIONS · picture books · slice of life

Reading for the Moon

Isabelle searches through a picture book to determine whether or not there's a moon in the illustrations.
Isabelle searches through a picture book to determine whether or not there’s a moon in the illustrations.

If you’ve read what I’ve written in the past week about my daughter (Click here or here if you’ve missed it.), then you know she’s obsessed with the moon. She looks for it in the late afternoon sky when she wakes up from her nap. It can’t be seen that early. However, once it gets dark, she knows exactly which window to stand by to look for it. “Maa, maa,” she says as she points towards the crescent or circle in the sky. Whenever she’s reading she gets excited to find a picture that includes the moon. She points to it and smiles. There are many things I can give her, but unfortunately the moon isn’t one of them. I can’t promise her that she’ll go there now that NASA has halted its missions to the moon. However, I can teach her about the moon and help her develop a strong appreciation for it.

Yesterday, she woke up grumpy from her nap. About a half hour after her wake-up, she got into a good mood. She wanted to be read to, but didn’t want to sit on my lap for more than one book. Therefore, I proposed a scavenger hunt of sorts. “Let’s read these books and look for the pages with the moon. Do you think you can find the moon in these books?” I asked her pointing towards the picture book basket in her room.

“Sssss!” she exclaimed. (That means yes.)

“Let’s start looking,” I said as I grabbed On the Night You Were Born. I selected a page with the moon and then laid it out on the floor. I did the same thing with Sweet Dreams Lullabye so she’d get the idea. And she did. As soon as she found a page with the moon, she’d point to it and smile. Then she’d hand it to me so I could lay it out on the carpet.

I started to chuckle when she was about seven or eight books into the search since she’d page through them and slam the cover shut as she exclaimed, “No!” if she didn’t find a moon. She was on a mission and knew what was a moon and what wasn’t.

I’m not quite sure what the purpose of this activity was. Part of me thinks it was a way to appease her after her nap while waiting for the moon to rise. Another part of me thinks it was a good sorting and identification activity. Regardless, I know she knows what is and what isn’t a moon (e.g., a sun).

14 thoughts on “Reading for the Moon

  1. Isn’t it funny what they notice and become obsessed with? Do you have the Eric Carle book Pappa, Please Get the Moon for Me? I think it’s great that she was able to search through her books for that elusive moon.

  2. Another adorable story about your daughter! I too have been noticing the moon, it has been magnificent lately! Who knows maybe by the time she gets to be of age NASA will again be flying and searching for that unknown world and just maybe Isabelle will be the captain of the ship!

  3. My daughter (she just turned 3) told me the other night that the moon looks like a banana. Which led to a fun discussion about words like ‘crescent’ and ‘full’. She wanted to know what we’ll call the moon when it looks like a triangle. 🙂

  4. Illustration-to-illustration connections? Illustration-to-world connections? You were quick in your thinking in search what is possible with books and Isabelle.

  5. I love that you helped her take something she is interested in, the moon, and use it to turn her mood around! That’s a great skill to have. And I agree with Elsie…if she doesn’t have Papa, Please Get the Moon For Me…she should!

  6. That moon fascination stays with them through the years – something magical in always being drawn to the moon, always entranced by its beauty. Good for Isabelle that she has started with this young….with many a moon to moon over as t he seasons pass by.

  7. I love how you describe her in this post. She was on a mission, perhaps that was the purpose. To distract her but to also give her a mission. She needed some moons and moons she found. So cute, great pic too.
    Thanks for the comment and you can certainly use the serving up slices line.

  8. I was going to suggest Papa, Please Get The Moon For Me, too, Stacey. It is a precious book. This seems so smart to me that Isabelle can find the moon pictures. I think it was a clever activity on your part, & fun!

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment below.

