imitation · OBSERVATIONS · read aloud

Imitation of a Read Aloud

I’ve noticed my daughter making some loud noises when she’s been flipping through the pages of her board books lately.  At first I wasn’t sure what it was.  However, on our way home from dinner this evening I sat in the back seat of the car with her.  Now I’m pretty sure of what’s going on.

As she flips through the pages of familiar board books, she’s making sounds.  The sounds she’s making are not words.  They do not match the cadence of the text.  However, I believe the sounds she’s making are imitations.  Not only does she know that books go from left to right, but she’s now proven that she knows that someone (i.e., me, my husband, or another adult) reads them aloud to her.  I believe she understands the connection between print and speech.  As for the sounds she’s making, which kind of remind me of the teacher on the “Peanuts,” I think she’s imitating someone reading a book aloud.

Once I realized what she was doing, I grabbed my iPhone and hit record.  I captured her reading *most* of the book aloud to herself int he back of the car.  (I didn’t catch the final two pages since I didn’t want the video to be too long.)  Here she is as she reads aloud to Spot Loves Sports:

16 thoughts on “Imitation of a Read Aloud

  1. I hope it’s okay to say it’s hilarious. The cadence and lilt up and down is wonderful to hear. I wish I could go back to ‘listen’ to my kids, Stacey. I remember they imitated, but don’t know if they made ‘words’ too. This is both priceless, and research! I had to play it several times just to hear, and loved seeing her meticulousness in turning those pages! So glad you recorded.

  2. Stacey,
    This is so precious! Thanks for sharing it…it just proves that reading every day does matter! Glad you recognized what she was doing and you got it recorded!

  3. This week I saw my just turned one year old grandson starting to do that. He has the turning pages in order and has started the “reading aloud” to himself in those “Peanuts” voices, too! Seems our posts are connected today! I must remind my daughter to record it for later years! Too precious! I loved how her voice got loud at the turning of each page! Before looking to see what she was doing, it must have seemed she was upset about something and was trying to get your attention…or maybe she was. You weren’t looking at her book she was reading to you!

  4. Oh I love this. It gave me a laugh to start my day! It also reminds me that little ones aren’t the only ones who imitate…better remember my free reading book when students start on Thursday!

  5. Wow isn’t the whole process of building literate lives so amazing! It was fun to actually see the slide so we could really get a sense of what her sounds were like. I am glad that you are documenting this phase of her life.

  6. HA! I love it! You must have thought, “What is going on back there? What’s wrong?” and here she was “reading.” So funny and remarkable all in one.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment below.

