OBSERVATIONS · picture books

A Reading Slice

Isabelle has been under the weather since Sunday.  Therefore, I’ve been busy tending to her more than I usually do.  She’s been getting away with more toddler-like behavior around the house simply for the fact that she doesn’t feel well.

I’ve found myself reading to her more than usual, which is the only good side effect from having a kiddo who is under the weather.  I added a new picture book to our stack yesterday when a review copy of Peter Reynolds’s Sky Color arrived from Candlewick Press.  It’s the kind of book I wish I could read to an entire class of kids because of its message.  (Plus, I always started the year off with Ish and know this would be an excellent companion to sharing Ish with a classroom-full of children.)  While the book jacket says that Sky Color serves as a reminder that “if we keep our hearts open and look beyond the expected, creative inspiration will come.”  I think it certainly does that and reminds kids to think out of the box.  There’s more than one way to do something.

Bubbe reads aloud to Isabelle before dinnertime.

While this message isn’t one that I think Isabelle can grasp right now (Remember, she’s not even two!), she has enjoyed listening to it being read aloud.  And not just by me.  This evening, my mom found Sky Color on the couch.  Isabelle sat down next to her (She sat for most of the book.  Remember, she’s a toddler, so she felt the need to toddle around while my mom read the middle of it!) and listened to another person’s voice read Sky Color aloud to her.  This makes me wonder… what do children think when they hear the same text read by two different people.  I know my mom emphasized different words than I emphasized.  Our reading rates are a little different.  My mom pointed out different things than I did when she showed the pictures to Isabelle.  I’m wondering at what age a child might say “That’s not the way _____ read this.”

This is slice of life story meanders a bit.  Perhaps that’s because it’s nearly 9 o’clock at night and this is the first time I’ve had the chance to sit down in my office all day.  I usually don’t write at night anymore.  Perhaps this is why!  At any rate, check out more Slice of Life Stories over at Two Writing Teachers.

5 thoughts on “A Reading Slice

  1. Thanks for sharing about Sky Color Stacey! I seem to notice Peter Reynolds books always have such positive messages to them. I’m looking forward to reading this! Hope Isabelle feels better…being a mom is a tough job sometimes, hope you recover too.

  2. Sounds like a great book. I enjoyed reading your reflections on toddlers and reading as well. I wonder if one of the thoughts that might come to mind when they do notice differences between who is reading is an acceptance or the idea that there’s more than one way to read a book and to appreciate the possibilities of each reader.

  3. Thanks for telling about the book, Stacey. I love Ish. Ingrid is a bit more than 3 & does say things when we read like “Momma says this”. But, my daughter makes up things too, so it might be that reason instead of just differences in reading aloud.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment below.

