board books · keeping busy with books · OBSERVATIONS

Books are our iPhone.

Isabelle studies a page from a touch and feel book with the ever-so-fascinating blood pressure machine and cuff behind her. (BTW: I just looked at my blood pressure numbers. 111/70. I have to admit, I am pretty pleased with those numbers.)

I have an iPhone, but I don’t give it to my daughter to play with when we’re out.  Let’s be honest, she never gets to play with it.  Quite frankly, I didn’t wait years to get one to have her put her slobbery (albeit loveable and slobbery) fingers all over it.  Instead, I bring an arsenal of small toys and board books with us when we go somewhere where I know I’ll have to keep her amused. While this is more inconvenient than just passing her my iPhone to play with, I feel that less screen time is better for her.  (If you choose to give your child your iPhone, then that’s your choice.  Many of my close friends give their children their iPads and iPhones to keep them occupied while they’re out.  However, this is just not for us, meaning my husband and I.)

Today was one of those days.  I had a medical appointment.  I knew there would be some lag time between the nurse taking me in and the procedure beginning, so I brought four of her favorite board books.  She enjoyed flipping through them atop the gurney I placed her on.  They provided a lot of amusement for her.  I was quite thankful that she alternated between the long board book, the touch and feel book, the flap board book, and a musical board book.  (Yes, I gave myself a pat on the back for thinking deeply about the selection ahead of time.)

Of course, I’d be lying if I told you the books kept her entertained the entire time.  She also had a lovely time playing with the blood pressure cuff that was directly beside the gurney on which she was sitting.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment below.

